A Hefty Issue

 

A wimpy, wimpy, wimpy City Council

A wimpy, wimpy, wimpy City Council

Many Seattle-ites are asking: who profits from the bag tax? Working families will suffer — that’s clear — so asking who profits is a good question. As conspiracy nuts know, “following the money” in the most tendentious manner possible is a critical step on the path to delusional self-importance.

 

So let’s follow the money on the Seattle bag tax.

1) The new bag tax will mean fewer plastic bags. It’s supply & demand. The city even claims that this is the reason for the tax in the first place.

2) Fewer plastic bags means no cheap sanitary free-at-point-of-purchase way to line your garbage cans.

3) And that means you’ll have to buy more garbage bags. 

4) And who benefits from that? Why it’s big companies like Hefty and Glad, of course.

Sure sounds like the plastic garbage bag industry is behind this tax, doesn’t it? I bet they’re pulling the strings and backing it with millions in contributions.

You may wonder why disposable plastic bag manufacturers would have different interests than the makers of plastic bags used for disposal. If so, well, you have a lot to learn about our industry. The thickness of the plastic film makes all the difference in the world.

2 responses to this post.

  1. I drop a leave a response each time I especially enjoy a post
    on a blog or I have something to add to the conversation.

    It’s a result of the fire communicated in the post I read. And on this article A Hefty Issue | Plastic Bag Makers for More Plastic Bags. I was moved enough to post a thought 😛 I do have a couple of questions for you if it’s allright.
    Could it be simply me or do some of the remarks appear like
    coming from brain dead people? 😛 And, if you are posting on additional
    places, I would like to follow you. Could you make a list
    the complete urls of all your social pages like your twitter feed, Facebook page or linkedin
    profile?

    Reply

  2. Hey there! I simply would like to give you a big thumbs up for your great info you have right here on this post.

    I will be coming back to your website for more soon.

    Reply

Leave a comment